top of page
  • Writer's pictureJonathan Shaw

New Transcription: "The Flatlands" from Octopath Traveler (2018)

I've just released a new full transcription of Yasunori Nishiki's "The Flatlands" appearing in the pleasant little JRPG "Octopath Traveler" (2018) alongside a recording to test its accuracy. Feel free to check it out!

If you're after the sheet music for "The Flatlands", you can find it here!

This includes individual part scores for:

  • Flute

  • Oboe

  • Clarinet in Bb

  • Suspended Cymbal

  • Castanets

  • Tambourine

  • Harp

  • Bouzouki I

  • Bouzouki II

  • Violin I

  • Violin II

  • Viola

  • Violoncello

  • Contrabass

If you are one of my Patrons, you can now find the MIDI, XML and SIB files I created for this transcription now available to download from your Patreon Google Drive folder!


Arranger's Note:

"The work itself is quite simple, yet it functions very successfully. The opening pivots between the tonic (D major; 0:02), the subdominant (G major/minor; 0:03 and 0:07), the dominant (A major; 0:14) and also a brief excursion to the flattened 3rd (F major; 0:12).

The 2nd section (0:31) shifts into G minor - the minor subdominant key - with the introduction of Greek bouzouki guitars.

Then we transition into the 3rd section (0:43) in G major - the subdominant - including a wonderful tertiary modulation from G major to E-flat major 7th. This shift is so pleasant due to its seamless voice leading (e.g. the B slips down to a B-flat). For some trivia, this progression is also littered throughout "Burgeoning Power" from "Fire Emblem Fates":

I could slightly pick out another instrument potentially playing the oboe melody of 0:58 an octave above (perhaps a flute), though I deduced that it was simply the harmonics of the oboe resonating loudly. Though I am suspicious!"


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • YouTube
  • SoundCloud
  • Patreon_logo.svg
bottom of page