top of page
  • Writer's pictureJonathan Shaw

New Transcription: "Tressa, the Merchant" from Octopath Traveler (2018)

I've just released a new full transcription of Yasunori Nishiki's "Tressa, the Merchant" appearing in the pleasant little JRPG "Octopath Traveler" (2018) alongside a recording to test its accuracy. Feel free to check it out!

If you're after the sheet music for "Tressa, the Merchant", you can find it here!

This includes individual part scores for:

  • Harmonica

  • Clarinet in Bb

  • Triangle

  • Castanets

  • Wind Chimes

  • Glockenspiel

  • Harp

  • Piano

  • Violin I

  • Violin II

  • Viola

  • Violoncello

  • Contrabass

If you are one of my Patrons, you can now find the MIDI, XML and SIB files I created for this transcription now available to download from your Patreon Google Drive folder!


Arranger's Note:

"My favourite of the character themes, there isn't too much to analyze except that it modulates from its home key of A major and into D major (the subdominant) at 0:37, with the clarinet taking over the melodic material.

There is a long cycle of 5ths starting at 0:58, going through multiple keys (Bm - E - A - D - Gm - C - F - Bb - Eb) which reminds me quite a bit of Koichi Sugiyama's work on the "Dragon Quest" series, which would also often include long cycle of 5ths progressions.

To get from the distant key of Eb major and back into A major, Nishiki sneakily modulates into E major (up a semitone from Eb) with a suspended 4-3 chord (A - G#) to smooth the return into A major.

This was a rather tricky track to transcribe, as several instruments are quite drowned in the original mix (e.g. particularly the inner string parts and the piano), so some of that material was a bit of a blind guess, such as the piano at 0:58."


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • YouTube
  • SoundCloud
  • Patreon_logo.svg
bottom of page